Singapore Noodles
The Singapore Noodles Podcast
51: A deep dive into mooncakes and Chinese pastry | Yeo Min, founder of Pastories
0:00
-35:54

51: A deep dive into mooncakes and Chinese pastry | Yeo Min, founder of Pastories

Yeo Min: “In my generation, very few of my friends eat Chinese pastries. They don’t really buy Chinese pastries to eat… A lot of the people who ask me if I am selling snowskin mooncakes are actually around my age. They would ask why I am selling traditional mooncakes, “I don’t think this kind of old taste would be what me or my friends would eat.” I felt a bit sad because I think that maybe it’s because they have not tried these traditional pastries from many different shops. There are some that maybe are not suited for our palates, but there are some that are honestly really good, but maybe they don’t give them a chance.”

 

Yeo, founder of Pastories, shares about how her interest in Chinese pastry began, plus: *Chinese laminated pastry* *Differences between Western and Chinese puff pastry* *Why Chinese pastry is a looser term than Western pastry* *Homemade golden syrup and the role of sugar inversion* *The use of alkali in Cantonese mooncakes* *The collision of sweet and savoury* *Youth perception of traditional mooncakes*

 

-

 

Pastories: @pastoriessg

Singapore Noodles: http://sgpnoodles.com/ @sgpnoodles

Singapore Noodles newsletter: http:s//sgpnoodles.substack.com/

0 Comments
Singapore Noodles
The Singapore Noodles Podcast
The Singapore Noodles podcast features host Pamelia Chia, founder of Singapore Noodles, engaging in open, honest conversations with people who are keeping Singaporean food heritage alive in their own ways. Join us to learn about how we can take an active role in preserving and embracing our Singaporean food heritage and culture.